Shane McConkey Award

Voted on by festival jury members, this award is given the best short film at WMFF. Scroll down to learn more about the award and previous recipients.

About This Award

This award was created in honor of the late Shane McConkey who was a visionary and a pioneer in outdoor film and the world of adventure.  This award represents the best adventure short film of the year. The Wasatch Mountain Film Festival has partnered with the Shane McConkey Foundation present this award each year. We are honored to preserve Shane’s memory and his passion for outdoor film.

Previous Award Recipients

  • 2019


    The Passage

    Directed by Nate Dappen

  • 2018

    The Frozen Road

    Directed by Tyler Wilkinson-Ray



  • 2017


    Dodo’s Delight

    Directed by Josh Lowell, Nick Rosen, & Peter Mortimer

  • 2016

    Without An Image

    Directed by Jason Piszczor



  • 2015


    The Ridge

    Directed by Stu Thomson

Support our Sponsors

Sponsored by Kind
Sponsored by High West Distillery
Sponsored by YETI
Sponsored by Gregory Packs
Sponsored by Incline Design Group
Sponsored by Kodiak Cakes
Sponsored by Wasatch Roasting Company
Sponsored by naawk
Sponsored by Park City magazine
Sponsored by Mountain Ready Fit

In Partnership With

in Partnership with the Leonrdo
With Support from Salt Lake City
With Support from Utah Film Commission
With Support from Salt Lake County